Konbini Kurious: Wonka Piritto Natty Bur

I may be in graduate school, but all of the higher education in the world will never stop me from being a novelty seeking consumer at heart.  And Japan’s konbinis (convenience stores) offer a playground for folks like me.  Ever changing selections, constant ‘limited editions’, never ending choices; it’s addictive.

Now, I promise not to write a million and one posts about the various products offered in konbinis, that topic is a well beaten dead horse, but when I find something truly outstanding it is only right to share it with the world.

Without further ado, may I have the honor of presenting the best chocolate in the entire world…

IMG_3942‘Natty Bur’.  Just the right amount of ‘engrish’ to make me giggle to myself with every bite.

IMG_3943

The misleading name had originally led me to believe that this was a peanut filled bar.  I had no idea what ‘piritto’ could possibly mean, though it sounded vaguely Spanish.  But oh, how wrong I was about it all.

IMG_3945

The bar has these essential flavors/textures:

  • Milk chocolate top layer
  • Milk chocolate bottom layer with crispy wheat (think Crunch bar)
  • Caramel filling
  • SPICE

Apparently the vaguely Spanish ‘piritto’ means or implies that this chocolate has some definite heat to it!  I thoroughly enjoyed taking nibbles between sips of my late afternoon tea, and I believe coffee would be an even better drink companion for this bar.

What kind of crazy things have you seen in konbini stores?  Any favorites I should keep an eye out for?  I’m debating a post on the current limited edition Doritos (tandoori chicken and keema curry flavors) as they are too outrageous to leave the world ignorant of.

Leave a comment